Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

VWVortex

The Car Lounge

Thread: Is there a statute of limitation on Traffic Violations in NY?

1. 04-20-2006 07:27 PM #1
      I plead "not guilty" immediately to any ticket I receive and try for reductions.

I received a court date today to answer a ticket that was issued 7 years ago for speeding. When I talk to the prosecuter it turns out I have 11 open tickets, not "unanswered," from 1999-2000. These are all from my heady days in high school/freshman year in college. The prosecuter offers me $500 in fines/ with no points. I gladly accept and continue to see the judge who then denies the prosecuters offer and tell me that I will receive trial dates for each ticket individually. Do I have any recourse?

Vehicles
      Bent M
      04-20-2006 07:45 PM #2
      Not really.

You need a good attorney and some luck.

I'm not real sure about NY law specifically, and I'm not a lawyer (yet...I'm a law student) so I can't in good faith give you legal advice...

The statute of limitations really has nothing to do with this. As long as the city filed their case before the SOL ran, the case is valid no matter how long it takes to hammer out. I.e. The city probably "filed" their case against you the day they gave you the ticket. It's been an "ongoing" case since then.

That said, I don't know for sure. Call a traffic atty.

In NY you'll probably be looking at $150 - $200/hr for a decent traffic atty. If you get separate court dates, you're looking probably 25 - 30 hours of this guy's time, bare minimum.

If you don't get an atty, you will lose your license for sure, probably suffer HUGE HUGE fines, and POSSIBLY spend time in jail (again, i"m not well versed in NY law and this type of thing varies GREATLY state-to-state).

With an Atty, you'll probably have your fines cut and MAYBE keep your license on a conditional basis.